Modric, Ronaldo, Deschamps … What about the FIFA 2018 Trophies? – Foreign


The international body presents Monday in London its trophies to close the season 2017-2018. If Griezmann, Mbappé or Varane have no chance for the title of best player, the trophy of best coach could be awarded to Deschamps.

Too bad for the 2018 world champions: the Fifa prize for the best player of the year will not win a Frenchman, Monday in London, but Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo or Mohamed Salah; On the other hand, coaches Didier Deschamps and Zinédine Zidane have a playing card. “It’s a trophy that gives Fifa, no?”, Asked Antoine Griezmann ingenuously in the daily L’Equipe in early September. “And the FIFA World Cup is organized by Fifa, right? We win the World Cup, and there is no French on arrival. These are choices but there is no world champion is surprising. “No Antoine Griezmann, no Kylian Mbappé or Raphael Varane, selected in the first list of ten names and all brilliant to varying degrees the previous season and in Russia: the panel of supporters, captains, coaches and journalists favored superstars having shined in the Champions League.

Ronaldo, again?

The Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo, fivefold Ballon d’Or, is no longer to present. He has won both Fifa Best trophies since the agreement between FIFA and France Football, founder and organizer of the Golden Ball, ended in 2016. And he took the lead over his great rival Lionel Messi in the league champions, sweeping the last three trophies with Real Madrid before leaving for Juventus Turin. Luka Modric did the same – 4 C1 in 5 seasons! – and, in addition, took his small country, Croatia, until the final of the World Cup, of which he was elected best player. He was also named player of the year by UEFA, the organizer of the Champions League … Ronaldo did not like that, the eternal hungry for individual awards.


In front of two thirty (33 years old each), a talent not as young as Kylian Mbappé but still promising, the Egyptian Liverpool Mohamed Salah, 26 years old and sparkling with the Reds the previous season. Wounded in the final of the Champions League and suffering at the World Cup, however, he did not regain his feelings at the beginning of the year … What did not prevent his team from having the Mbppé PSG (3- 2) when he returned to the Champions League on Tuesday in England.

The fields and Lloris?

“A French would have deserved well (this trophy, Ed), compared to the season they also realized, I’m disappointed for them, they deserved at least to be part of the three,” had lamented Didier Deschamps about his Forgotten world champions. There are still some world champions who could get their hands on a trophy: captain Hugo Lloris is a candidate for the title of best goalkeeper, alongside Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois and Leicester’s Dane Kasper Schmeichel. And the side of the Blues Benjamin Pavard postulates the title of the most beautiful goal of the year with his recovery from elsewhere that allowed the team of France, then led 2-1, to resume the thread of its World Cup, in eighth finals against Argentina Lionel Messi (4-3).

Finally, the coach of the Blues Didier Deschamps is one of the finalists for the prize of the best coach, against the coach of Croatia Zlatko Dalic and an old acquaintance, 1998 world champion like him: Zinédine Zidane, winner of the trophy the previous year . But ‘Zizou’ has meanwhile gleaned a third consecutive Champions League with the same club, unprecedented performance.

It will be difficult in any case to decide between all these champions, who will, at least for the players, a sort of surrender of catch-up at the most prestigious individual awards, the Ballon d’Or France Football, expected in the end calendar year. Sunday, the French daily L’Equipe – which belongs to the same group as the weekly France Football – promises on a full page that “September 25, the Ballon d’Or will renew the genre.” An announcement that will probably be scrutinized by the 2018 world champions.

List of finalists for the FIFA 2018 trophies, awarded Monday in London:

Best player

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR / Juventus Turin, formerly Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (CRO / Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (EGY / Liverpool)

Best goalkeeper

Thibaut Courtois (BEL / Real Madrid, formerly Chelsea)

Hugo Lloris (FRA / Tottenham)

Kasper Schmeichel (DEN / Leicester)

Best player

Ada Hegerberg (NOR / Lyon)

Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER / Lyon)

Marta (BRA / Orlando Pride)

Men’s team coach

Zlatko Dalic (CRO / Croatia)

Didier Deschamps (FRA / France)

Zinedine Zidane (FRA / formerly Real Madrid)

Female team coach

Reynald Pedros (FRA / Lyon)

Asako Takakura (JPN / Japan)

Sarina Wiegman (NED / Netherlands)

Puskas Trophy of the most beautiful goal

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Denis Cheryshev (Russia)

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Giorgian of Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro)

Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets)

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Benjamin Pavard (France)

Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here